An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.
IWOC Awards

Secretary of State’s International Women of Courage Award

2022 IWOC Award Ceremony

Since the inception of the International Women of Courage (IWOC) Award in March 2007, the U.S. Department of State has recognized more than 170 women from over 80 countries.

Now in its 16th year, the Secretary of State’s IWOC Award recognizes women from around the world who have demonstrated exceptional courage, strength, and leadership in advocating for peace, justice, human rights, gender equity and equality, and the empowerment of women and girls, in all their diversity, and more, often at great personal risk and sacrifice.

In a typical year, the IWOC awardees are invited to Washington D.C. to receive their awards from the Secretary of State and the First Lady in a ceremony held on or in proximity to International Women’s Day (March 8th). The recipients then travel across the United States to participate in specially designed International Visitor Leadership Programs (IVLP) experiences. Their IVLP visits culminate with a dinner hosted by American Women for International Understanding (AWIU), who also provides the awardees with special grants to continue their work at home.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s award ceremony, IVLP, and AWIU Celebration are taking place virtually. In preparation of IWOC 2022, you can meet the 2022 International Women of Courage and explore their stories.

The 2022 International Women of Courage are an extraordinary group of women. To learn more about this year’s awardees and the 16th annual IWOC award ceremony, you can view and download the 2022 IWOC Award Ceremony Virtual Program Book [8 MB] and read more about how these women are building a safer, better world.

Discover More

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future