An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

State Department Celebrates Heritage and History Months

“Diversity and inclusion make our diplomatic team stronger, smarter, more creative, more innovative. We’re operating in a diverse world, and America’s diversity is a source of strength that few countries can match.”

Antony J. Blinken
Secretary of State

Find Department releases on diversity and inclusion

Black History Month

Black History Month February 2022

Each February, National Black History Month serves as both a celebration and a powerful reminder that Black history is American history, Black culture is American culture, and Black stories are essential to the ongoing story of America — our faults, our struggles, our progress, and our aspirations.  Shining a light on Black history today is as important to understanding ourselves and growing stronger as a Nation as it has ever been.  That is why it is essential that we take time to celebrate the immeasurable contributions of Black Americans, honor the legacies and achievements of generations past, reckon with centuries of injustice, and confront those injustices that still fester today.

February 14, 2022
Why HBCUs Matter, Then & Now: Part Two

February 1, 2022
Why HBCUs Matter, Then & Now: Part One

February 1, 2022
Secretary Antony J. Blinken At a Ceremony Renaming the Harry S. Truman Cafeteria After Ambassador Terence A. Todman

January 31, 2022
A Proclamation on National Black History Month, 2022

January 17, 2022
Secretary Blinken’s Remarks on Martin Luther King Jr. Day

January 14, 2022
Perfecting Our Union, Strengthening Our Foreign Policy, Through Dr. King’s Legacy

FEBRUARY 25, 2021
Inspiring the Next Generation of Black Diplomats: A Foreign Service Officer’s Story of Exchanges and Service

FEBRUARY 22, 2021
60 Years of Service: An American Diplomat’s Short Story

FEBRUARY 8, 2021
Celebrating Diversity through DS Recollections

FEBRUARY 1, 2021
The Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs Celebrates Black History Month

Find more releases on diversity and inclusion

Women’s History Month

Each year, Women’s History Month offers an important opportunity for us to shine a light on the extraordinary legacy of trailblazing American women and girls who have built, shaped, and improved upon our Nation. 

Throughout American history, women and girls have made vital contributions, often in the face of discrimination and undue hardship.  Courageous women marched for and won the right to vote, campaigned against injustice, shattered countless barriers, and expanded the possibilities of American life.  Our history is also replete with examples of the unfailing bravery and grit of women in America, particularly in times of crisis and emergency.  Women served our Nation during World War II, led organizing and litigation efforts during the Civil Rights movement, and represented the United States on the global stage in the fight for human rights, peace, and security.  Far too often, their heroic efforts and their stories have gone untold — especially the millions of Black women, immigrant women, and others from diverse communities who have strengthened America across every generation.

MARCH 18, 2022
EMPoWering Women to Counter Terrorism

MARCH 15, 2022
EmPOWERing Women Entrepreneurs in America and Abroad

MARCH 14, 2022
2022 International Women of Courage Award

MARCH 11, 2022
Introducing the 2022 International Women of Courage

MARCH 8, 2022
Celebrating Women Around the World on International Women’s Day

MARCH 8, 2022
International Women’s Day 2022: Break the Bias

FEBRUARY 11, 2022
Celebrating the State Department’s Women in Science

MARCH 29, 2021
Recognizing the Women in International Security Committed to Keeping Our World Safe

MARCH 1, 2021
A Proclamation on Women’s History Month, 2021

MARCH 1, 2021
The Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs Celebrates the Diverse Workforce #RepresentingAmerica

Find more releases on diversity and inclusion

Arab American Heritage Month

April is National Arab American Heritage Month (NAAHM) and celebrates the heritage, culture, and contributions of Arab Americans.

APRIL 1, 2022
Recognizing National Arab American Heritage Month

APRIL 30, 2021
The Story of Arab Americans’ Beginning in America – And the Quest for Fair Representation

APRIL 30, 2021
Arab Americans and the Fabric of our Nation

APRIL 20, 2021
Arab American Heritage Month Spotlight: The Power, Benefits, and Necessity of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

APRIL 1, 2021
The Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs Celebrates National Arab American Heritage Month

Find more releases on diversity and inclusion

Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Asian Americans, and Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders (AANHPI) make our Nation more vibrant through diversity of cultures, languages, and religions.  There is no single story of the AANHPI experience, but rather a diversity of contributions that enrich America’s culture and society and strengthen the United States’ role as a global leader.  The American story as we know it would be impossible without the strength, contributions, and legacies of AANHPIs who have helped build and unite this country in each successive generation.  From laying railroad tracks, tilling fields, and starting businesses, to caring for our loved ones and honorably serving our Nation in uniform, AANHPI communities are deeply rooted in the history of the United States.

MAY 11, 2022
Celebrating Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Heritage Month at State: Part 2

MAY 11, 2022
Celebrating Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Heritage Month at State: Part 1

MAY 11, 2022
Celebrating AANHPI Heritage Month at State: From Refugee to Foreign Service

MAY 2, 2022
In Celebration of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

MAY 28, 2021
How I Built My Own ‘Shikata ga nai’ Philosophy

MAY 27, 2021
Recognizing the Americans of Asian and Pacific Islander Descent who Make our World a Safer Place

MAY 15, 2021
Celebrating Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders at State: Part 1

MAY 15, 2021
Celebrating DSS Asian American and Pacific Islander Colleagues

MAY 7, 2021
Understanding America: Asian American History, Contributions, and Current Challenges

MAY 5, 2021
“Perseverance and Assiduousness”: The Story of an Asian American Foreign Service Officer

MAY 1, 2021
Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

MAY 1, 2021
The Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs Celebrates Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month and Jewish American Heritage Month

April 30, 2021
A Proclamation on Asian American and Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander Heritage Month, 2021

MARCH 29, 2021
Support the Asian American Community by Defending Our Values at Home and Abroad

Find more releases on diversity and inclusion

Military Appreciation Month

May is Military Appreciation Month. Memorial Day, observed on the last Monday in May, honors America’s military men and women who lost their lives in service to their country.

MAY 30, 2021
Diversity and Diplomacy: Honoring Our Veteran Workforce

Find more releases on diversity and inclusion

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Pride Month

The uprising at the Stonewall Inn in June, 1969, sparked a liberation movement — a call to action that continues to inspire us to live up to our Nation’s promise of equality, liberty, and justice for all.  Pride is a time to recall the trials the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ+) community has endured and to rejoice in the triumphs of trailblazing individuals who have bravely fought — and continue to fight — for full equality.  Pride is both a jubilant communal celebration of visibility and a personal celebration of self-worth and dignity.  This Pride Month, we recognize the valuable contributions of LGBTQ+ individuals across America, and we reaffirm our commitment to standing in solidarity with LGBTQ+ Americans in their ongoing struggle against discrimination and injustice.

June 1, 2022
Commemorating Pride Month

APRIL 28, 2022
Briefing with Special Envoy to Advance the Human Rights of LGBTQI+ Persons Jessica Stern

APRIL 28, 2022
Statement by Secretary Blinken: Release of the First Annual Interagency Report on the Implementation of the Presidential Memorandum on Advancing the Human Rights of LGBTQI+ Persons Around the World

APRIL 28, 2022
Advancing the Human Rights of LGBTQI+ Persons Around the World

MARCH 31, 2022
Op-Ed: Transgender Day of Visibility at State – Past, Present, and Future

JUNE 25, 2021
Flag-Raising Ceremony To Fly the Progress Flag at the Department of State’s Harry S. Truman Building

JUNE 23, 2021
UN Human Rights Council Side Event: Defending the Lives of Transgender People

JUNE 21, 2021
Secretary Antony J. Blinken At the Atlantic Council’s Front Page Pride Edition Virtual Conversation with Jonathan Capehart on “Pressing for Equality: Engaging on LGBTQI Issues Around the World”

JUNE 1, 2021
A Proclamation on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Pride Month, 2021

JUNE 1, 2021
On Pride Month

Find more releases on diversity and inclusion

Caribbean-American Heritage Month

America’s diversity is and always has been the defining strength of our Nation — in every generation, our society, spirit, and shared ambitions have been refreshed by wave after wave of immigrants seeking out their American dream.  Throughout our history, Caribbean Americans have brought vibrant cultures, languages, traditions, and values that strengthen our country and add new chapters to our common story.  In recognition of Caribbean Americans’ countless gifts and contributions to our Nation, we celebrate National Caribbean-American Heritage Month.

June 1, 2021
A Proclamation on National Caribbean-American Heritage Month, 2021

June 1, 2021
Caribbean-American Heritage Month 2021: Celebrating Employees of Caribbean Descent

Find more releases on diversity and inclusion

Immigrant Heritage Month & World Refugee Day

America is, always has been, and always will be a Nation of immigrants. It was the premise of our founding; it is reflected in our Constitution; it is etched upon the Statue of Liberty — that “from her beacon-hand glows world-wide welcome.” During National Immigrant Heritage Month, we reaffirm and draw strength from that enduring identity and celebrate the history and achievements of immigrant communities across our Nation.

We join people around the globe in commemorating World Refugee Day, a day when we recognize the courage and humanity of the millions forced to flee violence, persecution, and war. It is also a moment to honor the generosity of communities welcoming refugees and the bravery and dedication of humanitarian workers who provide life-saving assistance, often in challenging and dangerous conditions.

JUNE 22, 2022
Foreign Press Center Briefing: World Refugee Day 2022

JUNE 23, 2021
We Must All Be Leaders in Improving Diversity and Inclusion

JUNE 20, 2021
Statement by President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. on World Refugee Day

JUNE 20, 2021
World Refugee Day: Faith and Humanitarian Responses

JUNE 20, 2021
Commemorating World Refugee Day 2021

JUNE 1, 2021
A Proclamation on National Immigrant Heritage Month, 2021

Find more releases on diversity and inclusion

Hispanic Heritage Month

During National Hispanic Heritage Month, we recognize that Hispanic heritage is American heritage. We see it in every aspect of our national life: on our television and movie screens, in the music that moves our feet, and in the foods we enjoy. We benefit from the many contributions of Hispanic scientists working in labs across the country to help us fight COVID-19 and the doctors and the nurses on the front lines caring for people’s health. Our Nation is represented by Hispanic diplomats who share our values in countries all over the world and strengthened by military members and their families who serve and sacrifice for the United States. Our communities are represented by Hispanic elected officials, and our children are taught by Hispanic teachers. Our future will be shaped by Hispanic engineers who are working to develop new technology that will help us grasp our clean energy future and by the skilled union workers who are going to build it.

SEPTEMBER 15, 2021
Hispanic Heritage Month 2022

SEPTEMBER 15, 2021
Hispanic Heritage Month 2021

SEPTEMBER 14, 2021
A Proclamation on National Hispanic Heritage Month, 2021

Find more releases on diversity and inclusion

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future